1 Astronomy for Absolute Beginners (27/09/17) | Battlesteads Hotel & Restaurant

Read our COVID-19 Information

Observatory Telescope

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners

The basics for a night's stargazing; finding your way around the stars, apps to use & things to hunt for.

Date & Time

Date Wednesday 27th September, 2017
Time 8:30pm to 10:30pm

Age Suitability

Newbie Stargazers from 10 to 100 years old will enjoy this experience

Equipment Needed

If all you bring is yourself and a thirst for knowledge then you'll have fun, all equipment is provided.

Ticket Prices

Adult £20.00
Concession £17.00
Family £53.00
A family ticket is valid for a group of 2 adults & 2 children.

Details

Visit Battlesteads Observatory and enjoy an introduction to stargazing under the twinkling stars of Northumberland on the edge of the largest expanse of protected dark skies in Europe – the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park.

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners is specifically aimed at helping newcomers to stargazing find their way around the cosmos.  Our expert team will explain how to prepare for a night of astronomy, covering things like clothing, equipment & technology.  At the conclusion of the evening, you'll be able to guide yourself around some of the more easily recognisable features of the night sky; Easily recognisable constellations, features of the moon, how to spot the planets, and other things such as aurorae, star clusters and the Andromeda Galaxy - easily seen from the Battlesteads Observatory with the naked eye.

During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with hot drinks available; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland.

 

As of yet, we're unable to control the weather, so observing the skies can only go ahead if it's clear but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead in any weather conditions.

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Saturday 6th March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Cancelled
Wednesday 10th March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Cancelled
Wednesday 17th March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Cancelled
Saturday 20th March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Cancelled
Tuesday 23rd March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Cancelled
Monday 29th March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Cancelled
Wednesday 31st March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Cancelled
Thursday 20th May, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 24th May, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 27th May, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 30th May, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 1st June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 3rd June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 6th June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 8th June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 10th June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 12th June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 16th June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 19th June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 21st June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 23rd June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 27th June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 29th June, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 3rd July, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 4th July, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 6th July, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 8th July, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 12th July, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 17th July, 2021 7:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 20th July, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 22nd July, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 25th July, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 27th July, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 1st August, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 3rd August, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 4th August, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 7th August, 2021 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 17th August, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 19th August, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 21st August, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 26th August, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 28th August, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 1st September, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 18th September, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 20th September, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 23rd September, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 26th September, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 27th September, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 29th September, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 13th October, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 14th October, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 16th October, 2021 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 17th October, 2021 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 23rd October, 2021 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 24th October, 2021 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 28th October, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 31st October, 2021 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 11th November, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 16th November, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 18th November, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 20th November, 2021 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 24th November, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 27th November, 2021 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 27th November, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 9th December, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 12th December, 2021 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 16th December, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 22nd December, 2021 9:00pm View Details Book Now

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room