1 Astronomy for Absolute Beginners (05/11/17) | Battlesteads Hotel & Restaurant

Read our COVID-19 Information

Observatory Telescope

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners

The basics for a night's stargazing; finding your way around the stars, apps to use & things to hunt for.

Date & Time

Date Sunday 5th November, 2017
Time 8:30pm to 10:30pm

Age Suitability

Newbie Stargazers from 10 to 100 years old will enjoy this experience

Equipment Needed

If all you bring is yourself and a thirst for knowledge then you'll have fun, all equipment is provided.

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50
A family ticket is valid for a group of 2 adults & 2 children.

Details

Visit Battlesteads Observatory and enjoy an introduction to stargazing under the twinkling stars of Northumberland on the edge of the largest expanse of protected dark skies in Europe – the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park.

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners is specifically aimed at helping newcomers to stargazing find their way around the cosmos.  Our expert team will explain how to prepare for a night of astronomy, covering things like clothing, equipment & technology.  At the conclusion of the evening, you'll be able to guide yourself around some of the more easily recognisable features of the night sky; constellations, features of the moon, how to spot the planets, and other things such as aurorae, star clusters and the Andromeda Galaxy - easily seen from the Battlesteads Observatory with the naked eye.

During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with hot drinks available; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland.

 

As of yet, we're unable to control the weather, so observing the skies can only go ahead if it's clear but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead in any weather conditions.

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Saturday 1st October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 2nd October, 2022 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 3rd October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 6th October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Sold Out
Tuesday 11th October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 12th October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 15th October, 2022 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 16th October, 2022 7:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 17th October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 22nd October, 2022 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 29th October, 2022 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 31st October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 1st November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 2nd November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 7th November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 9th November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 12th November, 2022 6:00pm View Details Sold Out
Tuesday 15th November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 16th November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 29th November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 30th November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 5th December, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 6th December, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 12th December, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 15th December, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 28th December, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 2nd January, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 4th January, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 7th January, 2023 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 8th January, 2023 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 10th January, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 11th January, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 14th January, 2023 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 26th January, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 28th January, 2023 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 4th February, 2023 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 9th February, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 11th February, 2023 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 18th February, 2023 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 23rd February, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 2nd March, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 9th March, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 11th March, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 15th March, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 19th March, 2023 7:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 27th March, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 29th March, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 3rd April, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 5th April, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 8th April, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 15th April, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 16th April, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 19th April, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 23rd April, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 24th April, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 28th April, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Dark Sky Dicovery Guide

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room