Observatory and Milky Way

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners

The basics for a night's stargazing; finding your way around the stars, what apps to use and a beginner's checklist of things to hunt.

Date & Time

Date Thursday 7th December, 2017
Time 8:30pm to 10:30pm

Age Suitability

Newbie Stargazers from 10 to 100 years old will enjoy this experience

Equipment Needed

If all you bring is yourself and a thirst for knowledge then you'll have fun, but if you can bring the following, that might help:

  • Binoculars
  • a Smartphone or tablet or laptop

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50

Details

Visit Battlesteads Observatory and enjoy an introduction to stargazing under the twinkling stars of Northumberland on the edge of the largest expanse of protected dark skies in Europe – the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park.

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners is specifically aimed at helping newcomers to stargazing find their way around the cosmos.  Our expert team will explain how to prepare for a night of astronomy, covering things like clothing, equipment & technology.  At the conclusion of the evening, you'll be able to guide yourself around some of the more easily recognisable features of the night sky; Easily recognisable constellations, features of the moon, how to spot the planets, and other things such as aurorae, star clusters and the Andromeda Galaxy - easily seen from the Battlesteads Observatory with the naked eye.

During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with hot drinks available; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland.

 

As of yet, we're unable to control the weather, so observing the skies can only go ahead if it's clear but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead in any weather conditions.

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Wednesday 27th December, 2017 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 1st January, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 16th January, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 29th January, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 4th February, 2018 8:30pm View Details
Tuesday 6th February, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 14th February, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 17th February, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 26th February, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 3rd March, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 6th March, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 12th March, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 21st March, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 28th March, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 31st March, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room







?>