Telescope in front of Dark Sky

Get to Know Your Telescope & Stargazing

In addition to a normal evening of stargazing fun, you can bring your own telescope to get some hands-on advice from our astronomers.

Date & Time

Date Wednesday 18th October, 2017
Time 8:30pm to 10:30pm

Age Suitability

Budding Astronomers from 10 to 100 years old will enjoy this event.

Equipment Needed

If you have a telescope and want to bring it along then let us know in advance and we'll help you with any problems you might have with it.  Or simply bring yourself and a sense of wonder and curiosity.

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50

Details

If you're thinking of buying a telescope or if you've already got one, (maybe a Christmas present that's hardly been out of the box,) then this is the night for you. With astronomers on hand to help you set up and use your telescope, or use one of ours, you'll be an expert in no time.  Bring yours along and get some personal advice from one of our in-house astronomers.

In addition to our usual night of astronomy fun, (and if the skies are clear-an evening of stargazing), we'll give you a tour of the observatory's telescopes & binoculars.  Also if you're thinking about buying a telescope we'll also happily guide you through the choices that the market has to offer.

If you have a telescope of your own and plan to bring it then please let us know at your time of booking.

During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with hot drinks available all year round; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland and the universe beyond. 

As of yet, we're unable to control the weather, so observing the skies can only go ahead if it's clear but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead in any weather conditions.

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Monday 2nd July, 2018 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 10th July, 2018 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 18th July, 2018 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 30th July, 2018 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 1st August, 2018 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 7th August, 2018 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 22nd August, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 27th August, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 5th September, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 15th September, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 26th September, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 2nd October, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 10th October, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 15th October, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 23rd October, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 6th November, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 21st November, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 10th December, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 27th December, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 29th December, 2018 8:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 5th January, 2019 8:30pm View Details
Wednesday 9th January, 2019 8:30pm View Details
Tuesday 15th January, 2019 8:30pm View Details
Monday 28th January, 2019 8:30pm View Details

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room