1 Astronomy for Absolute Beginners (03/03/20) | Battlesteads Hotel & Restaurant

Read our COVID-19 Information

Observatory Telescope

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners

The basics for a night's stargazing; finding your way around the stars, apps to use & things to hunt for.

Date & Time

Date Tuesday 3rd March, 2020
Time 9:00pm to 11:00pm

Age Suitability

Newbie Stargazers from 10 to 100 years old will enjoy this experience

Equipment Needed

If all you bring is yourself and a thirst for knowledge then you'll have fun, all equipment is provided.

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50
A family ticket is valid for a group of 2 adults & 2 children.

Details

Visit Battlesteads Observatory and enjoy an introduction to stargazing under the twinkling stars of Northumberland on the edge of the largest expanse of protected dark skies in Europe – the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park.

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners is specifically aimed at helping newcomers to stargazing find their way around the cosmos.  Our expert team will explain how to prepare for a night of astronomy, covering things like clothing, equipment & technology.  At the conclusion of the evening, you'll be able to guide yourself around some of the more easily recognisable features of the night sky; Easily recognisable constellations, features of the moon, how to spot the planets, and other things such as aurorae, star clusters and the Andromeda Galaxy - easily seen from the Battlesteads Observatory with the naked eye.

During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with hot drinks available; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland.

 

As of yet, we're unable to control the weather, so observing the skies can only go ahead if it's clear but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead in any weather conditions.

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Saturday 3rd October, 2020 6:30pm View Details Sold Out
Sunday 4th October, 2020 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 7th October, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 10th October, 2020 6:30pm View Details Sold Out
Sunday 11th October, 2020 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 17th October, 2020 6:30pm View Details Sold Out
Sunday 18th October, 2020 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 24th October, 2020 6:30pm View Details Sold Out
Sunday 25th October, 2020 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 27th October, 2020 8:00pm View Details Sold Out
Saturday 31st October, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 2nd November, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 7th November, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 7th November, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 8th November, 2020 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 9th November, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 14th November, 2020 6:30pm View Details Cancelled
Saturday 21st November, 2020 6:30pm View Details Sold Out
Thursday 26th November, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 28th November, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 29th November, 2020 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 5th December, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 6th December, 2020 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 12th December, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 19th December, 2020 6:30pm View Details Sold Out
Sunday 20th December, 2020 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 27th December, 2020 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 29th December, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 2nd January, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room