1 Astronomy for Absolute Beginners (05/06/22) | Battlesteads Hotel & Restaurant

Read our COVID-19 Information

Observatory Telescope

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners

The basics for a night's stargazing; finding your way around the stars, apps to use & things to hunt for.

Date & Time

Date Sunday 5th June, 2022
Time 9:30pm to 11:30pm

Age Suitability

Newbie Stargazers from 10 to 100 years old will enjoy this experience

Equipment Needed

If all you bring is yourself and a thirst for knowledge then you'll have fun, all equipment is provided.

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50
A family ticket is valid for a group of 2 adults & 2 children.

Details

Visit Battlesteads Observatory and enjoy an introduction to stargazing under the twinkling stars of Northumberland on the edge of the largest expanse of protected dark skies in Europe – the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park.

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners is specifically aimed at helping newcomers to stargazing find their way around the cosmos.  Our expert team will explain how to prepare for a night of astronomy, covering things like clothing, equipment & technology.  At the conclusion of the evening, you'll be able to guide yourself around some of the more easily recognisable features of the night sky; constellations, features of the moon, how to spot the planets, and other things such as aurorae, star clusters and the Andromeda Galaxy - easily seen from the Battlesteads Observatory with the naked eye.

During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with hot drinks available; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland.

 

As of yet, we're unable to control the weather, so observing the skies can only go ahead if it's clear but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead in any weather conditions.

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Sunday 4th June, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 11th June, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 15th June, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Friday 16th June, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 20th June, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 24th June, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 1st July, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 6th July, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 9th July, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 15th July, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 20th July, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 23rd July, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 29th July, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 30th July, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 3rd August, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Friday 4th August, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 13th August, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 15th August, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 19th August, 2023 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 24th August, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 27th August, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 5th September, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 7th September, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 12th September, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 23rd September, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 24th September, 2023 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 3rd October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 4th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 5th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 11th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 15th October, 2023 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 16th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 22nd October, 2023 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 23rd October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 25th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 28th October, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 29th October, 2023 7:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 31st October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 2nd November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 4th November, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 4th November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 8th November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 11th November, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 13th November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 16th November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 18th November, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 20th November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 23rd November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 27th November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 2nd December, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 2nd December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 3rd December, 2023 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 4th December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 9th December, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 11th December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 16th December, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 17th December, 2023 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 18th December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 23rd December, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 30th December, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 1st January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 2nd January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 6th January, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 9th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 13th January, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 14th January, 2024 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 15th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 16th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 20th January, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 22nd January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 27th January, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 28th January, 2024 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 29th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 30th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 3rd February, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 4th February, 2024 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 5th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 8th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 10th February, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 13th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 14th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 18th February, 2024 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 20th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 24th February, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 25th February, 2024 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 28th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 29th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Dark Sky Dicovery Guide

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room