1 Astronomy for Absolute Beginners (01/07/23) | Battlesteads Hotel & Restaurant
Observatory Telescope

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners

Let us guide you on a journey amongst the stars and around the cosmos.

Date & Time

Date Saturday 1st July, 2023
Time 9:30pm to 11:30pm

Age Suitability

This event is especially suitable for beginners.

ages 6+

Equipment Needed

No specialist equipment is needed for this event, although if you have a telescope or binoculars you are welcome to bring them.

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50
A family ticket is valid for a group of 2 adults & 2 children.

Details

Visit Battlesteads Observatory and enjoy an introduction to stargazing under the twinkling stars of Northumberland on the edge of the largest expanse of protected dark skies in Europe – the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park.

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners is aimed at helping newcomers to stargazing find their way around the cosmos, although astronomers of all abilities will enjoy the event.  Our expert team will explain how to prepare for a night of astronomy guiding you around the cosmos with free handouts and apps. In no time at all, you'll be able to guide yourself around some of the more easily recognisable features of the night sky; constellations, features of the moon, how to spot the planets, and other things such as aurorae, star clusters and the Andromeda Galaxy - easily seen from the Battlesteads Observatory with the naked eye.

If the skies clear, we'll take a tour of the night sky with our 14 inch diameter large aperture telescope, our dobsonian telescopes and binoculars for each guest to use throughout the event.

During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with free hot drinks available; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland.

As of yet, we're unable to control the weather, so observing the skies can only go ahead if it's clear but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead in any weather conditions.

All our events also include the chance to handle and investigate our extensive meteorite collection, which includes pieces of asteroids, the Moon and planet Mars.

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Tuesday 3rd October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 4th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 5th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 11th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 15th October, 2023 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 22nd October, 2023 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 25th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 28th October, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 29th October, 2023 7:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 31st October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 2nd November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 4th November, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 4th November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 8th November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 11th November, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 16th November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 18th November, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 23rd November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 2nd December, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 2nd December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 3rd December, 2023 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 9th December, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 16th December, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 17th December, 2023 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 23rd December, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 30th December, 2023 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 1st January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 2nd January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 6th January, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 9th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 13th January, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 15th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 16th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 20th January, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 22nd January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 27th January, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 28th January, 2024 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 29th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 30th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 3rd February, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 4th February, 2024 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 5th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 8th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 10th February, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 13th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 14th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 18th February, 2024 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 20th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 24th February, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 25th February, 2024 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 28th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 29th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 2nd March, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 5th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 7th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 9th March, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 13th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 14th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 18th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 23rd March, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 24th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 26th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 27th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 28th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 30th March, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 7th April, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 10th April, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 11th April, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 18th April, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 23rd April, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 24th April, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 25th April, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 30th April, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 5th May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 9th May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 11th May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 21st May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 23rd May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Friday 31st May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 2nd June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 6th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 9th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 11th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 18th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 20th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Friday 28th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 29th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 2nd July, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Dark Sky Dicovery Guide

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room