1 Astronomy for Absolute Beginners (06/06/18) | Battlesteads Hotel & Restaurant
Observatory Telescope

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners

Let us guide you on a journey amongst the stars and around the cosmos.

Date & Time

Date Wednesday 6th June, 2018
Time 9:00pm to 11:00pm

Age Suitability

This event is especially suitable for beginners.

ages 6+

Equipment Needed

No specialist equipment is needed for this event, although if you have a telescope or binoculars you are welcome to bring them.

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50
A family ticket is valid for a group of 2 adults & 2 children.

Details

Visit Battlesteads Observatory and enjoy an introduction to stargazing under the twinkling stars of Northumberland on the edge of the largest expanse of protected dark skies in Europe – the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park.

Astronomy for Absolute Beginners is aimed at helping newcomers to stargazing find their way around the cosmos, although astronomers of all abilities will enjoy the event.  Our expert team will explain how to prepare for a night of astronomy guiding you around the cosmos with free handouts and apps. In no time at all, you'll be able to guide yourself around some of the more easily recognisable features of the night sky; constellations, features of the moon, how to spot the planets, and other things such as aurorae, star clusters and the Andromeda Galaxy - easily seen from the Battlesteads Observatory with the naked eye.

If the skies clear, we'll take a tour of the night sky with our 14 inch diameter large aperture telescope, our dobsonian telescopes and binoculars for each guest to use throughout the event.

During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with free hot drinks available; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland.

Observing the skies is weather dependent, but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead whatever the weather and we aim to deliver exciting and interesting events every time.

All our events also include the chance to handle and investigate our extensive meteorite collection, which includes pieces of asteroids, the Moon and planet Mars.

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Tuesday 23rd April, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 24th April, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 25th April, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 30th April, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 5th May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 9th May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 11th May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 21st May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 23rd May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Friday 31st May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 2nd June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 6th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 9th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 11th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 18th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 20th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Friday 28th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 29th June, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 2nd July, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 4th July, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 14th July, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 18th July, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Friday 19th July, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 28th July, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 1st August, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 3rd August, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 10th August, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 11th August, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 15th August, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 18th August, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 22nd August, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 1st September, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 8th September, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 12th September, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 13th September, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 14th September, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 20th September, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 22nd September, 2024 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 24th September, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 6th October, 2024 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 10th October, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 12th October, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 17th October, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 20th October, 2024 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 22nd October, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 2nd November, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 9th November, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 12th November, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 16th November, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 19th November, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 21st November, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 30th November, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 7th December, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 8th December, 2024 7:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 17th December, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 19th December, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 21st December, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 28th December, 2024 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Dark Sky Dicovery Guide

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room