1 Dark Sky Discovery (05/01/21) | Battlesteads Hotel & Restaurant

Read our COVID-19 Information

Cocoon Nebula

Dark Sky Discovery

Stargazing under truly dark skies, gaze in wonder at the Milky Way & the universe beyond, see nebulae, star clusters and much more.

Date & Time

Date Tuesday 5th January, 2021
Time 8:00pm to 10:00pm

Age Suitability

Stargazers and Cosmologists from 14 to 100 years old will enjoy this event.

Equipment Needed

An open mind and a vivid imagination are essential.

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50
A family ticket is valid for a group of 2 adults & 2 children.

Details

Visit Battlesteads Observatory, an official Dark Sky Discovery Site, and enjoy an introduction to dark sky stargazing under the twinkling stars of Northumberland on the edge of the largest area of protected dark skies in Europe – the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park.

Only when you're away from the light pollution of big towns and cities can dark skies allow you to truly appreciate the cosmos.  We'll introduce you to the outer planets of our solar system as well as any comets that might be around.  Some of the most inspiring objects such as star clusters, nebulae and galaxies containing billions of suns are also seen clearly under dark skies and they never fail to amaze.

During the evening we'll guide you through the universe and talk about how to find dark skies near you, and how to plan your own evening of dark skies stargazing.  We'll also touch on some easy-to-understand cosmology and introduce you to the science of the stars and beyond!

During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with free hot drinks available all year round; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland and the universe beyond. 

As of yet, we're unable to control the weather, so stargazing can only go ahead if it's clear but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead in any weather conditions.

Book Online Now

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Monday 7th December, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 8th December, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 9th December, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 10th December, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 12th December, 2020 6:30pm View Details Cancelled
Tuesday 15th December, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 16th December, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 17th December, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 19th December, 2020 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 7th January, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 11th January, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 12th January, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 13th January, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 14th January, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 16th January, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 3rd February, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 4th February, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 6th February, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 7th February, 2021 7:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 10th February, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 11th February, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 13th February, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 4th March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 7th March, 2021 7:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 9th March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 11th March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 13th March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 14th March, 2021 7:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 15th March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 16th March, 2021 8:00pm View Details Book Now
Dark Sky Dicovery Guide

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room