1 Dark Sky Discovery (13/02/23) | Battlesteads Hotel & Restaurant
Cocoon Nebula

Dark Sky Discovery

Stargazing under truly dark skies, gaze in wonder at the Milky Way & the universe beyond.

Date & Time

Date Monday 13th February, 2023
Time 9:00pm to 11:00pm

Age Suitability

6 years and over.

Equipment Needed

No specialist equipment is needed for this event, although if you have a telescope or binoculars you are welcome to bring them.

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50
A family ticket is valid for a group of 2 adults & 2 children.

Details

Visit Battlesteads Observatory, an official Dark Sky Discovery Site, and enjoy a beginner's guide to dark sky stargazing under the twinkling stars of Northumberland on the edge of one of the largest area of protected dark skies in Europe – the Northumberland International Dark Sky Park.

Using our 14 inch diameter large aperture telescope, we'll introduce you to dark sky objects such as nebulae, clusters, galaxies and the outer planets of our solar system as well as any comets that might be around. You will be guided around the universe and we'll talk about how to find dark skies near you, and how to plan your own evening of dark skies stargazing.  We'll also touch on some easy-to-understand phone apps, cosmology and introduce you to the science of the stars and beyond! We have a selection of telescopes for guests to use, and each guests gets their on pair of binoculars to use during the event.

During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with free hot drinks available all year round; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland and the universe beyond. 

Observing the skies is weather dependent, but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead whatever the weather and we aim to deliver exciting and interesting events every time.

All our events also include the chance to handle and investigate our extensive meteorite collection, which includes pieces of asteroids, the Moon and planet Mars.

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Wednesday 6th December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 7th December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 8th December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 9th December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 10th December, 2023 7:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 12th December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 16th December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 4th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 6th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 7th January, 2024 7:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 10th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 11th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 12th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 13th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 31st January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 1st February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 2nd February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 3rd February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 6th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 7th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 9th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 10th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 11th February, 2024 7:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 12th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 2nd March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 3rd March, 2024 7:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 4th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 6th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 9th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 10th March, 2024 7:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 11th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 12th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 30th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 31st March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 2nd April, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 3rd April, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 4th April, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 5th April, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 6th April, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 9th April, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 27th April, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 28th April, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Dark Sky Dicovery Guide

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room