1 Stargazing & Moonwatch (20/04/19) | Battlesteads Hotel & Restaurant

Read our COVID-19 Information

Full Moon

Stargazing & Moonwatch

Marvel at the magnificent moon & go stargazing from our Official Dark Sky Discovery Observatory Site.

Date & Time

Date Saturday 20th April, 2019
Time 9:00pm to 11:00pm

Age Suitability

Moonwatchers from 10 to 100 years old will enjoy this experience

Equipment Needed

If all you bring is yourself and a thirst for knowledge then you'll have fun, but if you can bring the following, that might help:

  • Binoculars
  • a Smartphone

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50
A family ticket is valid for a group of 2 adults & 2 children.

Details

Visit Battlesteads Observatory and enjoy an introduction to our closest companion in space - the moon. The moon has been the subject of study by astronomers, artists and poets since humans first gazed up into the sky thousands of years ago.

Moonwatch evenings are specifically aimed at showcasing the moon using our powerful telescopes, although we also do some stargazing too. Our expert team will explain some of the key features of the moon to look for and give you pointers on how to use binoculars to discover hidden lunar gems.  You'll learn how to spot:

  • The highlands and seas,
  • Wrinkle ridges and lunar Rilles,
  • Craters and volcanoes
  • Apollo lunar landing sites.
  • and weather permitting you'll be able to take pictures of the moon through our telescopes with your smartphone - to share on social media with friends and family!

We'll also try to stargaze as much as possible, seeking out double stars, clusters, planets, galaxies and nebulae   During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with hot drinks available; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland.

As of yet, we're unable to control the weather, so observing the skies can only go ahead if it's clear but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead in any weather conditions.

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Saturday 4th June, 2022 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 11th June, 2022 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 13th June, 2022 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 3rd July, 2022 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 7th August, 2022 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 9th August, 2022 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 11th August, 2022 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 14th August, 2022 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 6th September, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 8th September, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 10th September, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 13th September, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 15th September, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 4th October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 5th October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 9th October, 2022 7:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 10th October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 13th October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 15th October, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 3rd November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 5th November, 2022 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 5th November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 6th November, 2022 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 8th November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 10th November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 12th November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 13th November, 2022 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Monday 14th November, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 1st December, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 3rd December, 2022 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 3rd December, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 4th December, 2022 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 7th December, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 8th December, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 10th December, 2022 6:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 10th December, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Sunday 11th December, 2022 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 29th December, 2022 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Dark Sky Dicovery Guide

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room