Full Moon

Stargazing & Moonwatch

Marvel at the magnificent moon & go stargazing from our Official Dark Sky Discovery Observatory Site.

Date & Time

Date Thursday 9th January, 2020
Time 9:00pm to 11:00pm

Age Suitability

Moonwatchers from 10 to 100 years old will enjoy this experience

Equipment Needed

If all you bring is yourself and a thirst for knowledge then you'll have fun, but if you can bring the following, that might help:

  • Binoculars
  • a Smartphone

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50

Details

Visit Battlesteads Observatory and enjoy an introduction to our closest companion in space - the moon. The moon has been the subject of study by astronomers, artists and poets since humans first gazed up into the sky thousands of years ago.

Moonwatch evenings are specifically aimed at showcasing the moon using our powerful telescopes, although we also do some stargazing too. Our expert team will explain some of the key features of the moon to look for and give you pointers on how to use binoculars to discover hidden lunar gems.  You'll learn how to spot:

  • The highlands and seas,
  • Wrinkle ridges and lunar Rilles,
  • Craters and volcanoes
  • Apollo lunar landing sites.
  • and weather permitting you'll be able to take pictures of the moon through our telescopes with your smartphone - to share on social media with friends and family!

We'll also try to stargaze as much as possible, seeking out double stars, clusters, planets, galaxies and nebulae   During the winter months the observatory warm room is kept cosy and with hot drinks available; this simply is the best and most comfortable way to be introduced to the dark starry skies of Northumberland.

As of yet, we're unable to control the weather, so observing the skies can only go ahead if it's clear but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead in any weather conditions.

Book Online Now

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Saturday 6th July, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 8th July, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 10th July, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 15th July, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 16th July, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 5th August, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 6th August, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 8th August, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 10th August, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 10th August, 2019 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 13th August, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 15th August, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 7th September, 2019 6:30pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 7th September, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 9th September, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 11th September, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 12th September, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 14th September, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 16th September, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 18th September, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 7th October, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 9th October, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 10th October, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 12th October, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 14th October, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 16th October, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 17th October, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 6th November, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 9th November, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 12th November, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 13th November, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 14th November, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 4th December, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 9th December, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Wednesday 11th December, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Thursday 12th December, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 14th December, 2019 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 4th January, 2020 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Tuesday 7th January, 2020 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 10th January, 2020 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 11th January, 2020 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Monday 13th January, 2020 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Dark Sky Dicovery Guide

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room