1 Aurora Hunting (14/12/18) | Battlesteads Hotel & Restaurant
Aurora Borealis

Aurora Hunting

Explore the science behind the Northern Lights, discover how to predict them and how to observe them.

Date & Time

Date Friday 14th December, 2018
Time 9:00pm to 11:00pm

Age Suitability

6 years and over.

Equipment Needed

No specialist equipment is needed for this event, although if you have a telescope or binoculars you are welcome to bring them.

Ticket Prices

Adult £22.50
Concession £19.50
Family £55.50
A family ticket is valid for a group of 2 adults & 2 children.

Details

The Aurora Borealis (also known as Northern Lights) are magical and inspirational phenomena that grace the Northern night skies.  What are they and how can you go hunting for them successfully?

Aurorae are now very well understood by physicists around the world but for thousands of years and for many communities, they played a part in religions, fairytales and folklore.  Join us on a journey that begins with history and art of the Northern Lights through to our scientific understanding of the aurora today.

At Battlesteads Observatory we aim to give our guests the knowledge and understanding you will need to hunt the Aurora Borealis for yourselves.  You'll learn the basics of the science behind how they are created, how to find them, which apps to use and some hints and tips on how to photograph them.  Questions are welcomed and our team will be on hand to help you with anything we are able to.  Our team has led hundreds of aurora talks and trips over the years and includes photographers & physicists (in case you have any tricky technical questions.)

If the skies clear, we'll take a tour of the night sky with our 14 inch diameter large aperture telescope, our dobsonian telescopes and binoculars for each guest to use throughout the event.

As of yet, we're unable to control the weather, so observing the skies can only go ahead if it's clear but you'll be pleased to know that all events go ahead in any weather conditions.  The Northern Lights are a random natural occurrence, and our aurora hunting night is about preparing for the occasions when they are visible, aurora may or may not be visible on the night.

All our events also include the chance to handle and investigate our extensive meteorite collection, which includes pieces of asteroids, the Moon and planet Mars.

Other Dates & Times

This event type is also running on the following dates & times:

Date Time Details Book
Friday 6th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 20th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 27th October, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 3rd November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 24th November, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 1st December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 15th December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Saturday 23rd December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 29th December, 2023 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 5th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 19th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 26th January, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 16th February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 23rd February, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 8th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 15th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 22nd March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 29th March, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 12th April, 2024 9:00pm View Details Book Now
Friday 26th April, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now
Friday 3rd May, 2024 9:30pm View Details Book Now

Reviews from Trip Advisor

"Very, very impressed with the hotel and staff"

"Quality hotel, quality service, quality food, quality ethics"

"This is a place where the guests still matter"

"Fabulous service and food in this wonderful family hotel"

Some of our Awards

Book a Room

Book a Room